3 October 2023

Nobel Prize to Lund – Congratulations Anne L’Huillier and Lund University!

Anne L’Huillier, Professor in Atomic Physics at Lund University, is one of three recipients of this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics. Big Science Sweden joins the accolades, and is pleased to note how this improves the statistics regarding female winners of this prestigious prize – Anne L’Huillier is only the fifth woman to win the award.

Her co-winners are Pierre Agostini, The Ohio State University, Columbus, US, and Ferenc Krausz, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Garching and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany.

The three researchers were awarded the prize “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.

Anne L’Huillier and Lund University

We send our congratulations to Anne L’Huillier and to Lund University. This Nobel Prize award illustrates how Sweden is now a leading nation for pioneering research.

Lund University is one of the consortium partners behind Big Science Sweden.